Skip to content

Cape Cod, Nantucket & Martha’s Vineyard

May 31, 2012

You know it’s going to be a good summer when water bottles and patagonia pants are on your packing list….

As I often do, I chose to forgo a real salary and some sort of stability for what looks to be a pretty awesome summer. (Honestly, I got this job and stopped looking for the “real thing”). In January I was cleaning out my inbox when I found an email from the spring of 2009. I had apparently inquired about this position previously and still had an email with a little bit of information.

On a whim I decided now would be a good time to lead outdoor adventure trips around the country/world –> so I applied.

The company is called Wilderness Ventures and they lead outdoor adventure trips for middle, high school and college students. You can also hire them for private group trips as well. The trips go all over the world and vary in intensity, duration and activities involved.

You don’t apply for a certain postion –> you just apply and then they place you on a trip (two to three leaders per trip). I would be lying if I said I didn’t have certain things I wanted to do or places I wanted to go (kayaking in Fiji?!). Haha. Because I had no control I just decided that I would be excited about whatever I was assigned…. and lets be honest, you can’t really go wrong with any of the options.

In sort of hilarious fashion (long story) I was assigned biking trips in New England! Thus, the Cape Cod, Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard title. I’ll be taking students on 16 day biking trips around New England. I’ll learn more during training, (ten days in the Tetons!) but whale watching, ferry rides and surfing will be involved. We’ll be camping most nights and staying in a hostel for a few (I think!).

So I’m way excited and have been gathering necessary things on my packing list (read: biking short!) and actually biking/spinning a few times. As the trip gets closer (June 9th) I get more and more excited. Also, Backpacking Boyfriend is super excited to help pack my backpack — I’ve graciously being loaned a nice 65 kiloliter pack from his collection. Haha.

So that’s that. My contract runs until early August and then I’ll be on the hunt for the next adventure, real job, campaign? Who can even know?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karyn permalink
    May 31, 2012 10:38 pm

    You are awesome and have an awesome backpacking boyfriend!

Trackbacks

  1. Missouri. «
  2. a pretty backyard «
  3. Mr. & Mrs. Barber «
  4. the postage stamp. «
  5. Joey Sugar Marie Regan «
  6. Summer BBQ «
  7. Twenty Twelve «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

