Skip to content

Summer BBQ

June 15, 2012

Before leaving Springfield (for a wedding and then a week in Kansas City and then training) my parents and I had a little barbecue with my aunt and uncle to celebrate the beginning of summer (and me leaving).

I made made a couple of really good recipes that I thought I’d share. We hosted the gathering and were planning on eating outside but it was too chilly (welcome to June in Missouri)!

We did have appetizers and drinks outside…. My Mom made a pitcher of lemonade-esque cocktails and I made Sweet Corn + Roasted Jalapeno Hummus. It was really good. I doubled everything in the recipe but the jalapenos. It had the perfect amount of kick and we had a decent amount leftover.

My Mom marinated chicken and pork in various glazes and then my Dad grilled them on their Big Green Egg. I made homemade Crusty Greek Bread that we used for dipping with hummus and served with dinner. This recipe makes a lot. I made three loaves out of the dough. I would recommend cooking it for slightly less then it calls for… my first loaf was a little too crusty. It was delicious though.

Because we needed greens I made Tuscan Kale Salad with Pecorino Cheese – this is one of my favorite salads. I’ve made it before and it’s delicious. If you want to save a little money if would probably be just fine with good parmesan cheese as well. To supplement the kale I also used a little bit of chinese chard (?) that my Mom is growing in the garden. It’s the pretty light green leaves on the right.

Finally – perhaps my favorite part of the meal was the Spring Salad with New Potatoes. It was so good. I especially loved the dressing. I couldn’t find good snap peas or green beans so I used peas and it was just fine. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly… it made enough to feed five with leftovers!

Everything tasted great and it was great to see my aunt and uncle one more time before I took off.

I will definitely be making the two salads again before the summer is over. (Actually I probably make the hummus again as well! haha).

*This post is part of a series of prescheduled posts that are recapping things that went on throughout April and May (when I was neglecting the blog). I’m currently “working” (hiking and biking) in the Tetons and New England.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 12:53 pm

    OMG I can’t wait to make that hummus. Genius.

Trackbacks

  1. Twenty Twelve «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers

