Skip to content

Food and 5k

February 14, 2010

Hello! First, Happy Valentine's Day! I have always thoroughly loved Valentine's day and will be back later with a Valentine's themed post! How could I not love a day all about hearts, all things pink and love?! :)

A few days ago I mentioned a cooking and wine night and I wanted to share recipes. I'm "mentoring" several of my friends in cooking and for our first lesson I made Ultimate Chicken with Basil Pasta Salad, Asiago Crostini as an appetizer and a random cream cheese cinnamon fruit dip for desert. Everything turned out really good and delicious!

The Crostini is super easy and super good. Mix I can of artichoke hearts, a cup of fresh parsley, a 1/4 cup of parmesan, a 1/4 cup of olive oil and a splash of lemon juice. Blend mixture in a food processor or blender just until well mixed and seemingly spreadable (you don't want it pureed). Serve on toasted asiago cheese bread!

I was just a little nervous about the Ultimate Chicken because I had never made it before but it turned out great. Here's the recipe. It's pretty much a sauteed apple mixture on a bed of spinach covered with grilled chicken and warm blue cheese dressing. I'm not a huge blue cheese fan but the dressing in the recipe was surprisingly good! Eating it warm wasn't odd at all and truly brought everything together.

Photo(2)

Photo(3)

The pasta salad is SO easy. Toss cooked pasta with fresh basil leaves, squished cherry tomatoes (squeeze them to release the juice as you put them in bowl), and balsamic vinegar and voila!

The friends that I am cooking with don't like anything spicy which is opposite of what I usually cook so it's a fun challenge to find easy things that they will all enjoy. So far so good!

On a different note our 5k went really well. Although we told ourselves not to forget we still forgot to take a picture. :( It was a 39 degrees at 8 a.m. when the race started which was a bit chilly… The race was fairly small meaning that it wasn't too cluttered at starting line which was nice. Barber and I ran the first mile together in 7 minutes which is a little too fast of a pace for me. :) I slowed up a little and he headed on. We ended up finishing about 21.40 and 22. 50 respectively. When I crossed the finished line I was so tired that I couldn't take the timing chip off my ankle and one of the helpers removed it for me. I had temporarily lost use of my arms. haha. Luckily they got their usage back and were needed to hold beer mugs for much of the afternoon and evening.

We had booked a room at the only hostel in Gainesville and it was interesting to say the least. Hostels aren't anything new to us but it was definitely not the most normal – clean – or accommodating hostel we've ever stayed at…. So much so that last night we ended up crashing with our friends who were staying at the Marriott Inn and Suites. :)

All in all a good little race trip! Hope everyone is enjoying their day of love! I'll be back with things that I love later!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 3:28 pm

    I hate your ability to run. And by hate, I mean im so jealous.

Leave a Reply

