Skip to content

Crockpot Adventures

February 15, 2010

So yesterday we ran to the grocery store to get a couple of essential Valentine's Day supplies (strawberry shortcake makings, wine) and I happened to find the greatest deal ever. I always check out the meat prices regardless of whether we need any or not. As usual I was checking out the prices when I stumbled upon a 10 lb ham on a manager's special sale for $7! I've never cooked a ham so I pulled out the trusty iphone and found out I could cook it in my crockpot. I of course bought it.

Ecstatic about my find I didn't stop to think that a 10 lb ham will most definitely not fit in my 3.5 qt. crockpot. On the way home, prior to this realization, I am still more excited to realize that the original price on the ham was $50!!

It was not until this morning that I realized that the ham was seriously enormous and not fitting in any way. Not only is the ham too 'tall' for the lid but it is also too wide around the circumference to even fit. Uh oh.

IMG_0472

Lucky for me, I live with my bright law student of a boyfriend who simply suggests cutting through the ham bone with a hack saw to make the ham fit. If you can imagine, the next hour was spent sawing off the side hump that you see there in the picture and about 3 inches off of the top. (I peeled the meat off the bone and still cooked it… not to be wasteful of course!)

IMG_0473

So we now have approximately 10lbs of delicious ham in our refrigerator. Just another adventure with our crockpot made possible by good 'ol President's Day! Yay for no work or school!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    February 15, 2010 11:53 pm

    A great story. I am trying to think of a way to tie it to President Washington, or Lincoln, but cannot come up with anything.

  2. February 16, 2010 6:04 pm

    This is a funny story…it kind of reminds me of the story of the family that always cut off the ends of the roast because great, great grandma did, only to find out year’s and generations later that grandma only did it because her pan wasn’t big enough for the roast…will there be a similar story develop around the crock pot ham?

Leave a Reply

