Skip to content

Feature Friday ~ Chase Heilman Photography

February 18, 2010

FinalFeatFri

Today's super amazing and awesome feature is Chase Heilman Photography. This is a really neat feature for me because I have seen Chase Heilman Photography grow and become successful before my eyes. Chase, owner and photographer of Chase Heilman photography, is one of my best friends from high school. It's been incredible to see this adventure unfold and I can not wait to see where it takes him in the future. I had a brief opportunity to ask Chase a few questions.

1. When did you know that you wanted to pursue photography?

I've known since I was about 12 that I wanted to be a professional photographer.

© 2008 Chase Heilman0058 

© 2008 Chase Heilman0107

2. Would you recommend going to an art school or learning the art as you go?

I would definitely recommend art school. I graduated from the Colorado Art Institute located in Denver. It is expensive but with all the new technology in the photography world it is vital; an art school can loan you the equipment and teach you to use it.  Knowing
photography history is also imperative in making you a better
photographer.  I also found that school provides a network of people to make your work
stronger. Without many of the contacts I met in school I would not have
become as successful or 'well-networked as I am. Working with others pushes you and makes you want to do
better work.

3. What are the photography blogs/sites that you check daily?

I religiously follow four blogs that I check daily: blog.chasejarvis.com, aphotoeditor.com, pdnonline.com, and commarts.com . The final site, Communication Arts is a paid subscription but it has the best photography, advertising, and website information around.

© 2008 Chase Heilman0002 

© 2009 Chase Heilman Photography0168

4. If you could create/work the perfect "dream job" what would it be?

I
am going to achieve this. It isn't so much a dream as it is a goal to
be slayed.  I want to run a photography/marketing company for
non-profits that does work nationally and internationally.  Working with non-profits
that are making a difference fighting poverty,
hunger and homelessness gives me a drive like no other. When I
contribute to a worthy cause and can make a decent living in
the process, that's the dream.  Not only that but I want to be an employer that helps
others realize their dreams.

5. Thus far, is there a photo or specific shoot that stands out as your favorite?

I
have a photoshoot coming up that is the beginning of the dream and goal I
stated above. I will be traveling to Nicaragua and working with the Rainbow Network,
a non-profit that aims to end poverty in Nicaragua (The poorest of all
central american nations).  As far as a specific photograph… I photographed a couple dancing while I was in school in Denver that really was a favorite. 

© 2008 Chase Heilman0022
© 2008 Chase Heilman0045

6. What are your goals for 2010?

Even though 2010
has already begun I have started working on making things happen. I
have three current jobs that need to be finished and finished
brilliantly.  After the Nicaragua trip I aim to take that work and advertise
it to other non-profits with a similar philosophy. Hopefully I can
find two more clients ready and willing to fund a photography shoot in
their respective fields.  Most of all I want to become a better
photographer, a better businessman, and realize a dream that started
almost a decade ago when I got that first camera.

© 2008 Chase Heilman0037 

© 2008 Chase Heilman0052

Check out Chase's website and blog at:

www.chaseheilman.com and www.chaseheilman.blogspot.com

You can also purchase his work at:

www.redbubble.com/people/chaseheilman 

© 2008 Chase Heilman0106

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 12:11 am

    I recognize your profile photo Katie Brooks, I enjoyed the posting very much!

  2. Aaron Hatfield permalink
    February 19, 2010 1:38 am

    This chase guy seems like an excellent photographer and an o.k. guy!

  3. Rhett Roberson permalink
    February 19, 2010 1:49 am

    Chase Heilman = Epic.

  4. Paul Weinrauch permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:10 am

    Great photography! And photographer!

  5. February 19, 2010 12:00 pm

    Katie, Is this the photographer that took the photograph that you gave me of the sailboat? If so, he does beautiful work. I’m still enthralled by the waves in the water in that particular photograph.

  6. February 19, 2010 3:30 pm

    A note to Mr. HEILMAN (who I imagine will be checking in here; Hi Chase!) — any time you want to talk non-profits, critical needs, budgets, etc., don’t hesitate to contact me! I only learned that this was you dream/goal recently, or I would have cornered you over the holidays. A worthy goal, a noble dream. My challenge to you — find a way to also serve non-profits that don’t have the budget of a Rainbow Network. Quality photography and well-designed printed materials are what most small agencies need the most but can least afford. Be safe on your shoot in Central America.

  7. Leslie permalink
    February 19, 2010 5:38 pm

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I just LOVE this guy! What great work!

  8. Novie permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:23 pm

    awsome work cuz :)

  9. February 20, 2010 12:20 am

    His website need to be reworked, but besides that he is an amazing photographer. Very inspirational.

  10. Kris permalink
    February 20, 2010 12:08 pm

    Chase was my neighbor for a short while and a friend ever since I don’t see him near a much since his move to East coast. I t has been a privlage to watch him grow as a young man and photographer. He has taken pictures of my family and some amasing shots of my kids. The only wat Chase is going is up!

  11. John permalink
    June 15, 2010 5:36 pm

    The man can hit a 3-iron a mile – and straight!

Leave a Reply

