Skip to content

Mission Accomplished

February 20, 2010

After the pizza breakfast I set out to find two things; Thrifty things and cupcakes. Since moving to Jacksonville I haven't been "antiquing" but I knew of a good store that I wanted to check out. Said store, called Fans and Stoves Antiques turned out to be a great find in itself! The booths are PACKED with stuff and I could have spent hours. I found a few things at that store and a few others at an antique store across the street.

For those of you that don't know I collect Pyrex dishware. (I know, I know, totally Grandma-ish). I'm always looking for good buys and today I stumbled upon these beauties! haha. The big blue one I found at Fans and Stoves and the two little ones were found across the street. I was perfectly happy with the just the big one and then pleasantly surprised to get the whole set!

IMG_0494

I also got this little liquid measuring cup… It's the vintage version and my favorite part is the bottom which reads, "For general household and photographic use only." I've never seen that before. What does that even mean?!

IMG_0496

To round out my finds I got a John Tenniel "Alice in Wonderland" print (for $3!), a 1950's Jello add that I want to put in my kitchen and the game Risk which I've been looking for! (It's not the vintage version but it was cheaper than buying it at Target).

IMG_0498

IMG_0495

I really, really wanted this set of nesting bowls. These ones were $50 which is actually a pretty good price but I just couldn't do it. :)

IMG_0486

It just so happens that the only cupcake bakery in Jacksonville is about 5 miles from my house. This is lucky seeing as how JAX is 50 x 50 miles. The shop was called CamiCakes and decorated in all pink and brown. I decided on a Cinnaswirl cupcake and a Sweet Potatoe cupcake. The Sweet Potato one was good but not that 'sweet potato-ey.' The Cinnaswirl with creamcheese cinnamon icing was delicious! Very cinnamony!

IMG_0490
IMG_0491

All in all a very successful Saturday. And, to top it off…. it's 70 degrees :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:13 pm

    Beauttiful pictures. A very good day. And the MO State Bears won their Bball game here against Nevada, on ESPN2, on a day in the 50s in Springfield.

  2. February 20, 2010 11:11 pm

    I spent my saturday sitting on a 3rd story balcony of a resort at lake of the ozarks with my bro throwing cheez-its to ducks on the frozen lake below. And it was 50 as well… fantastic day!

  3. Linda Momma permalink
    February 21, 2010 1:35 pm

    Katie B — save some exploring for when I’m there!

  4. February 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    fun finds! i used to play Risk all the time! =)

Leave a Reply

