Skip to content

Scrabble Board Love DIY

March 3, 2010

I thought I'd post this easy/fun gift idea made with none other than a scrabble board! I don't have pictures of making the project but it's pretty self explanatory. The idea came from a picture that I stumbled upon so long ago that I can not remember where I saw it. 

The scrabble games you can buy in stores come with a board that is a little bit bigger and much more colorful than the original version. I wanted the original one which I found for $2 on Craigs List. 

Arrange the tiles in a crossword pattern with words (places, people, verbs, 'stuff') that relate to you and whoever you are making the board for. 

I chose to decoupage some picture on the board first using Modge Podge. Next I super glued the tiles down and voila! I chose to frame mine but you could display it any way you like. My friend Lyndsey made one for her boyfriend and fashioned a cute string to hang it up. Whatever you decide it really can't go wrong!

IMG_0615[1]
(It was a bit difficult to photograph without getting a reflection…)

Here's a close up. The 'e-w-e-l-l' is the word 'Jewell' (where we went to college). 

IMG_0616[1]
Not only do you get thoughtfulness points for this project but it's nice and affordable as well! :)

Here's a little peak at what's taking over my living room floor right now…. uh oh!

IMG_0630[1]
 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erica permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:59 pm

    excited to see the next project in progress! Love the scrabble idea! I’m gonna put that one in my back pocket

Leave a Reply

