Skip to content

the not easter, easter dress.

April 4, 2010

Last fall I bought a vintage dress from a seller on Etsy.. The purchase was somewhat on whim and is actually the only thing I've ever purchased from the site. It cost around $25 and the shipping was free so I bought it. When it arrived I tried it on and being caught up in the excitement of it arriving I totally loved it. After a while though I decided that it wasn't quite perfect. It was a little big and it was also kind of a strange "mid-calf" length that's too long for a party/cocktail dress and too short to be "tea-length." 

Now that I've got my sew on recently I decided to try and re-work it a bit. Unfortunately I don't have a great "before" picture. :( From the picture below you can at least tell that it is big in the chest area.

Kb
photo by Chase Heilman

First I decided to hem approximately 4 1/2 inches off the bottom. A few days ago I told my Mom that I would never hem anything by sewing and would ALWAYS use hem tape…. Guess what, I sewed the hem. Haha. I was a little nervous that I was going to irreparably ruin the dress but it turned out fine. 

Then using trial and error I pinned in places that I thought would make the v-neck opening fit a little better. (I couldn't find a good tutorial on google). I found that by pinning in the shoulder seams a little each side of the "v" was pulled tighter…. So i sewed that. 

Finally, just for fun…. I hand sewed a little cherry on to the skirt with some red embroidery thread. I have an old pleated skirt that I will never wear again with the cherry pattern on it. The only thing I'm worried about is the cherry "patch" potentially fraying. We'll see I guess. 

Here is the finished product!

IMG_0841
I don't have anywhere to wear an Easter dress this year but if I did this would definitely be it! :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. martha brooks permalink
    April 4, 2010 10:40 pm

    Good job, Katie. This looks really cute. I am very impressed.

  2. April 8, 2010 12:33 pm

    wow. wanna hem some of my dress pants for me. the problem with hemming my own is that i cant bend over and pin my own pants!

  3. April 10, 2010 5:29 pm

    It looks so pretty!

Leave a Reply

