Skip to content

I made a dress….

April 10, 2010

And it was very hard. Of course the pattern said it would be easy, but that turned out to be a lie. I am going to make an apron next I think… Take a break from the hard stuff. Miraculously the dress turned out ok AND it actually fits pretty well…

First of all I had to cut out the pattern three times. It needed the outer portion, interfacing, and then the lining of the dress. I had to rip out the bodice and start over which was the first obstacle. The bodice ended up fitting a little better than expected though.

It's a long story but I accidentally cut the skirt a little bit less wide than it should have been…. You'll see that it looks a bit a-line and it was supposed to be a little more full and kind of gathered around the waist. It works though. If I ever made it again I would make the bodice a bit longer…. It cuts off at a slightly awkward point which is why I think it looks better with the belt. If I had a yellow belt than it'd be perfect! :)

Finally the zipper was SUPER hard and I actually sewed the front and the back of the dress together at one point. Haha. After all that, here it is! (It's not hemmed yet so it will be about an inch shorter….)

Dress 

 It could have been much worse…. :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paige permalink
    April 11, 2010 11:33 am

    LOVE IT!

  2. Megan permalink
    April 11, 2010 11:44 am

    Good job! That’s amazing! I’d wear it!

Leave a Reply

