Skip to content

Julia’s Bruschetta

April 26, 2010

Anyone who's seen "Julie and Julia" remembers the amazing looking bruschetta that Julie makes at the very beginning of the movie. (Fun Fact: they shot that scene 37 times meaning that Eric, her boyfriend, had to take a huge bite [that he chews while saying his line] 37 times! haha)

I was wondering if I could find that recipe anywhere on the internet and sure enough there were plenty of people who wanted it as well. After 'googling' "Julie and Julia's bruschetta" many entries popped up! It turns out that her deliciousness is simply a mix of colored tomatoes with olive oil and several spices served on toasted bread.

I decided to jazz mine up a bit with other vegetables…. I sautéed some squash and zucchini with olive oil so it would be a little bit softer…

IMG_1715
I added the squash and zucchini to a mixture of tomatoes, peppers and cucumber and added olive oil, basil and oregano. We ate it so fast I didn't get a picture of how it looked on the bread. :) I just grilled pieces of a baguette that was sliced with medium thickness and spooned on top. Very easy and super healthy.

IMG_1716
 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 4:58 pm

    My daughter is eating sauteed zucchini and yellow squash. I’m SO impressed . . .

  2. April 26, 2010 9:49 pm

    And I didn’t even gag once!

  3. Paige permalink
    April 26, 2010 10:37 pm

    My mom is forcing me to start cooking more because of you. Thanks a lot. I have a lot to live up to.

Leave a Reply

