Skip to content

Silly Bandz

May 1, 2010

I'm not sure if this phenomenon has hit everywhere yet…. but here in Jacksonville if you're between the ages of 5-18 anybody who's anybody has got a wrist full of Silly Bandz.

Silly
The coolness of these bracelets is that they hold their shape so that if taken off your wrist they form something. Kids wear a handful on their wrist at a time and then they trade each other for bracelets that they don't have. Silly Bandz was the original maker but I'm pretty sure there are already some copy cat companies popping up. They come in packages (of 24) such as Pets, Zoo, Western, Alphabet, Sea, Dinosaurs…. etc, etc. 

Last week at soccer I decided that I needed to get in on the fun and I coerced (very nicely) a little girl to give me a purple ice cream cone. I explained that I couldn't trade because I didn't have any but I thought they were so cool and needed one. :) She happily obliged. Since then I only trade 1 for 2 (I'm working slowly towards a whole wristful!) They are unsure at first but I explain that they have SO many and I'm just trying to get a few so it's ok to give me 2 and they get one.

Here's what's currently living on my wrist…. (Sorry for the blurriness)

IMG_1787[1]
An elephant, a microphone, a rino and a guitar!

IMG_1789[1]
  
 I'm hoping to acquire some of the bracelets in the princess set soon!

Princess
 
 I know for sure of two schools that have already banned the bracelets because they are such a distraction!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kristen permalink
    May 2, 2010 10:56 pm

    Ummm they have these extra silly things at Hallmark and in February I found myself thoroughly examining them trying to figure out why anyone would want them…! Maybe I’ll go get myself some and tell everyone all the cool kids in Florida have them so it’s only a matter of time before people in Missouri figure it out… :)

  2. Ashley permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:18 pm

    Our cousins who live in Mississippi gave these out to all the younger cousins for Christmas this year… they tried to explain just how popular they are but I don’t think they got the reaction from the Missouri cousins that they wanted!

Leave a Reply

