Skip to content

diaper cake.

July 12, 2010

I know little to nothing about babies. Mostly I find them a bit scary. A few weeks ago I held a baby for ten minutes and that was longer than all the other babies I've held put together. Barber's lovely cousin Jill is expecting a scary cute little guy and family and friends threw her a baby shower last weekend. While I don't know much about babies I do know about crafts… so I made her a diaper cake.

I got the idea from my Mom's friend and I I figured I could probably find some directions floating around the internets. Sure enough there are a plethora of "baby diaper cake tutorials" available. Mine is a hybrid version of several different directions.

First I rolled the diapers and secured them with the little plastic hair ties that don't rip your hair. What size diapers you use (I used size one) will help determine how big your cake will be.

IMG_1202 

I think I used about 60 diapers total…. The amount you would need would depend on how large or small you'd like your cake. I decided on a 3 tiered cake…. For the base layer I put three circles of diapers around a bottle; the second layer you can see has two circles and the top has one (I secured each circle with stretchy string). I ended up stacking two baby bottles together because my cake was tall enough that it needed two.

IMG_1203
After completing the structural part you can pretty much decorate it however you wish! Jill is having a boy so I went with a blue theme; we (Barber and I) also bought spoons, pacifiers and some teething toys that were on her registry and used them to "decorate" the cake.
 

Cake
 Pretty cute if I do say so….  :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyndsey permalink
    July 13, 2010 10:17 am

    that’s so awesome! I’ve never heard of such a thing!!!

  2. July 14, 2010 12:49 am

    Haha! Fun right?! And not too expensive compared to lots of baby things….

Leave a Reply

