Skip to content

nyc

July 16, 2010

"New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made of…" Or so says Jay Z.

But seriously, I do love New York. I arrived here yesterday in preparation for a quick gig with a youth leadership organization called LeadAmerica. I'll be working as a Team Leader at the Media and Journalism conference where I'll be facilitating activities, running simulations and providing a "life changing experience" for bright high school students from around the country. :) I will only be able to post certain things do to privacy rules set by the organization.

Technically nothing starts until tomorrow though so I had all day to roam free. We are staying, ah, a bit north of Manhattan so this morning I hopped on the Subway and headed to Rockefeller Center. 

I headed down to the fashion district where I found LOTS of fabric stores! Crazy stores with tons and tons of fabric on long rolls.

IMG_1340
 There were several store devoted solely to spandex fabric…. Lady Gaga?

IMG_1343
 Then I wandered down into the Greenwich Village, past NYU to SOHO where I stopped at a cute little restaurant for a while. Along the way I found a couple neat vintage stores, clothes store and a cool chess shop!

Then I headed down canal street and met up with a childhood friend, her mom and several aunts! Alison is taking a 2 week graduate course at St. John's University and happened to be in town at the same time. This is us on the rooftop of the Metropolitan Museum of Art underneath this super cool "tree house-esque" thing made up of 5,000 bamboo shoots and over 50 miles of climbing rope. For 8 months it's constantly being built and worked on by a team of artists and rock climbers.

IMG_1349
When I finally made it back to my dorm at 9:30 I realized I am SO exhausted from walking around ALL day. Here's a quick map of the ground I covered… And this doesn't include walking from the Subway to the MET and back. :)

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=109927637648891982540.00048b8c9364021b52746&ll=40.739193,-73.992577&spn=0.045523,0.073128&z=13&output=embed
View NYC Walking Tour in a larger map

I was wearing some leather sandals that are actually really comfortable but they made my feet look like this (don't mind the fat toes).

IMG_1357
 But it doesn't really matter because "These streets will make you feel brand new, the lights will inspire you…" :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lyndsey permalink
    July 19, 2010 9:21 am

    bahahahaha

Leave a Reply

