Skip to content

so fabulous they deserved their own post…

August 25, 2010

Fun fact about my lovely boyfriend: he loves shelves. True story. The average person's train of thought would be, "I have a cool vase/picture/plant that I want to display so I should hang a shelf to put it on." Most often Barber's train of thought is, "that wall could really use a shelf right there." :)

Minutes after moving everything in to my apartment Barber brings up the idea of putting some shelves in my kitchen. As he's knocking around looking for studs and discussing the benefits of track shelving vs. L bracket shelving I make a few non-commital noises here and there to appear tuned in. It's really not that I maybe wouldn't like them it's just that I don't care to think that hard about it and I'd rather get unpacked.

Sometime soon after we end up at Lowe's and although I can't picture exactly what the end goal is I'm somewhat on board. We spend entirely too long being ridiculous in the shelf aisle before deciding that we need one track, 4 brackets and a board that the lovely Lowe's people cut for us.

Long story short…. Voila.

IMG_1691
Hello beautiful, efficient, clean shelves. I love you.

IMG_1692
In my defense; had I realized how truly little storage space I actually have I probably would have been on board with the shelves from the beginning. :) Good thing Barber and his shelf intuition were one step ahead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyndsey permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:50 am

    bahaha… can he come “Shelf” my apartment? I don’t even have a closet in my apartment!

  2. August 26, 2010 10:11 am

    Oh my gosh he would love to ‘shelf’ your apartment! He made a whole closet out of shelves and racks at his old house because he didn’t have one either. haha.

Leave a Reply

