Skip to content

sewing class update!

September 14, 2010
tags:

I've complete a few more projects in the online sewing class I'm taking. These may not come across as all that cool but I learned something new during each project and I really ended up liking them more than I initially thought I would.

First…. A throw pillow case!

IMG_2031
I know it doesn't look that cool, but notice the pink around the edges? It's called piping and it makes the pillow very schmancy. 

IMG_2032
Yes, the back is navy polka dots. Haha. The back has an overlapping flap which means I can pull it off the pillow and wash if needed.

Next up, a quilted pot holder.

IMG_2033
This was actually my least favorite project to make. I like the outcome but it got a little monotonous sewing all of the lines.

Finally, this 'cute' little banner. 

IMG_2030
I thought this was going to be way more tedious than it actually was which is why I picked a short word (I thought about doing "Hi!"). I really liked making it though and I do think it turned out rather cute if I do say so.

IMG_2029
And remember, if you haven't watched and commented on my video, check it out here!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. martha brooks permalink
    September 14, 2010 1:35 pm

    You are becoming quite the seamstress! All the sewing projects look so well done. What is next?

  2. September 14, 2010 1:55 pm

    Thanks! I think I am going to make a pencil case out of this sort of vinyl/canvas material next. It will help me work on adding a zipper. After that I am not sure yet; I’m just slowly working my way down the list. :) Lots of fun!

  3. Lyndsey permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:33 am

    You could have a business of just those banners! Think of the market of new mommies who’d pay you big bucks to sew their new darling’s name on one of those banners!!! Then they’d hang above cribs all over america in all different colors!!!! Seriously.. you should think about it.

  4. September 16, 2010 10:59 am

    haha. I know right? Let me know if you know any babies who need fabulous banners with their names!

Leave a Reply

