Skip to content

(Half) Marathon Training

November 22, 2010

Last year Barber and I ran a few 5k races and tossed around the idea of running something a little longer but never got around to it. Earlier this fall I noticed that I was having trouble forcing myself to go out and run all the time and I decided I needed a plan. Something to work towards — The answer; The Tallahassee Half Marathon on February 6th! (Originally I wanted to run this one but while I’m sure it’s fabulous it’s also a bit pricey…)

This is my first time “training” for something running related so I turned to the knower of all things to help me find a plan –Google didn’t disappoint. There is a plethora of information and I decided on an 11 week training program which fit perfectly into my time frame. It doesn’t incorporate any speed or tempo runs but just gives the recommended milage. Today begins week 2!

Pending on the emotional and physical results of this half marathon the goal is to run the Chicago Marathon in October 2011. We’re thinking about making a weekend of it with lots of our runner friends…. we’ll reconvene on that in February. :)

To help me keep track of my training I’ve joined the dailymile.com. If you’re a member let’s be friends! It lets you upload your workouts and you can track, graph, compare with and motivate other runners and see fun statistics like how many donuts you’ve burned or TV’s you’ve powered. (I’ve powered 57 TVs so far).

I’ve also got a request in to Santa/the Birthday Fairy for one of these guys!

It’s a GPS watch thus tracking how far you’ve run, pace, time and heart rate. (When I showed this to my Mother she told me to step outside my door, run, and if I was sweaty when I got back it was a good workout… The “other half” of Santa seemed a bit more excited and has quite a track record with questionably necessary gadgets). :)

**Wordpress hates me today and I was unable to insert a picture of said watch**

Now that I’ve made this public declaration I pretty much have to run this!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 9:52 am

    Looking at the calendar plan thingy, it’s really hard for my brain to comprehend the word “easy” next to anything over 1 mile….

  2. November 22, 2010 9:58 am

    Haha. True… But anyone (you!) can work up to higher milage! All you need is handy calendar to tell you what to do everyday! :)

  3. Kristen permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:50 pm

    Lyndsey, seriously if I can do it, you can do it! I learned a new meaning of the word DISCIPLINE. Great time!

Leave a Reply

