Skip to content

I kinda missed the boat….

January 8, 2011

How is it already January 8th?! Whoa. I kinda missed the boat on the whole ‘re-cap your year’ post…. Better late then never eh?

In January I didn’t have my new computer yet so I don’t have most of the pictures from that month….

We had an impromptu photo shoot with the infamous Chase Heilman, flew back to Florida to start the semester (Barber at law school and me substituting), Barber turned 24 and we enjoyed the warmish weather of Jacksonville in January.

In February we celebrated our second Valentine’s Day together by running a 5k in Gainesville, Barber renovated Kitten’s mansion into a castle and I helped coach the little Hammer’s girls to a 3rd place finish at Worlds at Disney Wide World of Sports.

In March Barber bought me a sewing machine (just for fun!), we flew back to Missouri for Andy and Melissa’s wedding, celebrated St. Patrick’s day with our KC friends and my parents came to visit after we arrived back in FL.

In April I continued learning to sew and started making more aprons, Kitten turned one and Mr. Barber studied. A lot.

In May I worked for the Census Bureau and Barber finished his first semester of law school! We celebrated, watched a lot of Law and Order SVU, I flew to Baltimore and spent a fun weekend with Chase before road tripping back to Missouri and Evan got married! Barber made the drive to MO a week later and we kicked off our whirlwind summer!

In June Garrett and Julie got married, we styled and decorated a barn for a reception, Kent and Lainey got married and we celebrated in said barn and Barber had his appendix removed.

In July we spent most of our time organizing, cleaning, landscaping and preparing Lainey’s house so that we could put it up for sale and I went to New York City to work for LeadAmerica for two weeks!

In August we hosted a wine and game night as a last hooray with our friends in MO, drove back to FL, moved out of our apartment, moved me to Tallahassee and moved Barber across the street. I started my first semester of a masters program at Florida State and Barber started his second semester of law school (the moving was so hectic that we failed to photograph any of it….)

In September we adjusted to living in two separate cities, studied, I worked on projects from an online sewing class and made more aprons and we got creative with sharing our one car.

In October we celebrated our two year (!!) anniversary, spent an entire Saturday playing games, my Momma came to visit, my friends and I threw “Fall Party 2010” and we ate goat cheese herb pasta on Halloween… :)

In November my Dad came to visit, we celebrated Thanksgiving in Jacksonville with our old neighbors, Barber bought Kitten a sweater that was too small (ahaha!) and FSU beat UF in football for the first time in 7 years!

In December we both finished our semesters, I turned 24, we celebrated Christmas around Missouri with lots of friends and family, took a quick trip to Iowa, saw Wicked in Chicago and rang in the New Year with “How to Train a Dragon” because I was sick on the couch. (We also only have one relevant photo from all those activities….) :(

2010, you were fabulous.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 3:05 pm

    Always love the posts Katie, keep them coming, lets do another shoot.

  2. erin permalink
    January 8, 2011 3:29 pm

    Katie- looved this post!!! Great pictures for alot of these- especially loved the connect four one and the castle you guys made for Nala! You are so fun and creative!!!

  3. January 9, 2011 5:09 pm

    what a great year!!! you guys are so cute. and so are those aprons.

  4. January 10, 2011 9:26 am

    How To Train Your Dragon = best movie ever.

    :D

  5. Lainey barber permalink
    February 9, 2011 10:05 pm

    Katie….

    I love your blog… Love the pics!!!

    Xoxoxo Lainey

    Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

