Skip to content

Race Recap!

February 9, 2011

You may remember, seemingly forever ago, when I announced I was running a half marathon. Well it happened, race was ran! It was surprisingly, dare I say, fun and kind of enjoyable….

Here we are at 6:30 a.m., pre-race (Barber ended up not running it due to a nagging foot injury)

The race started on Sunday at 7:30 a.m. — The weather was perfect; 45 degrees with a slight breeze. The course was ‘out and back’ (as opposed to a loop) which I thought I was really going to dislike (because it’s generally boring to turn around and run the same thing back)…. In reality it was a mental pick-me-up to visually know exactly how much more I had to run when I was on the way back.

My goal was to run it in under 2 hours. Somewhere around mile 10 or 11 I realized that I was definitely going to make that goal so I changed it to under an 1:50.

The beginning of the race went by quickly, I ran miles 6-8 with an acquaintance from class and then the last five miles were a little lonely…. Once I reached mile 11 and realized I only had two more to go I felt pretty good. I was TIRED and then really sore when I finished, but oh so happy that I had completed the race.

I felt good sprinting by that guy behind me… I didn’t realize how much he was struggling though until I saw this picture. Haha :) My final time was 1:50:47 which put me in 7th place of my age group and 140th in the race overall (it was a fairly small race though).

I definitely will run another half marathon. It’s kind of a nice distance — more ‘legitimate’ than a 5k but not as ridiculously long as a marathon. Speaking of which, I might have signed up for the Chicago Marathon in October… Eeeeek. Such a big commitment because it’s so far away. Barber, myself and three of our friends our signed up. We’re going to have a long distance training club once things get started. Anybody want to join us?! (You should sign up quickly though because the marathon generally sells out in the first month!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. zakadoo permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:15 am

    attagirl!

    You rocked it! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

