Skip to content

Overnight Oats

March 2, 2011

This winter I sort of got in to making oatmeal for breakfast. When i was younger I would occasionally eat instant packs of oatmeal with brown sugar but this is way different. I’m talking fancy oatmeal! For some of my inspiration and a number of delicious recipes you can check out the famous KERF’s oatmeal page!

Now that it’s warm (Sorry Missouri!) I don’t really like to eat oatmeal so much… A lot of time I eat after running in the morning and a warm bowl of oatmeal after sweating is so unappealing! Thus, I’d like to introduce you to the magic of overnight oats! If you soak your oats in milk (yogurt/water) overnight they are soft and of oatmeal consistency in the morning (did everyone know this but me?)

Since this peanut butter jar was down to the very end I made my overnight oats right in the jar — I normally add peanut or almond butter anyway so this works great.

Did anyone else ever put milk into the syrup bottle when there was nothing but the sticky coating left on the inside? Because syrup milk, which only happened every so often when we ran out of syrup, was the most exciting thing ever in our house.

Back to the oats! I realize that these picture don’t really show you the oatmeal per se…. I will try and get a better picture soon.

The ingredients:

Overnight:

  • 1/4 cup of oats
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • cinnamon

Add in the morning:

  • strawberries
  • splash of vanilla
  • sunflower seeds
  • a teaspoon of flax
  • chopped dates

The great thing is that the possibilities are endless! I’ve added everything from pumpkin to chocolate chips to granola to cottage cheese. So many combinations. And lets be honest, what’s healthier than oatmeal with fruit, nuts and peanut butter for breakfast?! :)

Enjoy! kb

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyndsey permalink
    March 2, 2011 11:27 am

    Can you do the overnight thing with instant or quick oats? Or does it have to be oatmeal-oatmeal… like reeaall oatmeal?

    • Kristen permalink
      March 3, 2011 9:11 am

      Lyndsey! Use reeeall oats!!!!! So much better for you:) And I think instant might become too soggy anyway!

      KB- Obsessed. And obsessed with KERF since you told me however long ago. Thanks, dear. :)

Leave a Reply

