Skip to content

Pumpkin Spice Bread

March 6, 2011

Back in the fall every time I was at the grocery store there seemed to be displays of canned pumpkin. Preparing for an apocalypse (where I survive but all of the remaining pumpkin doesn’t) I bought cans of pumpkin every time I saw them. You may remember this or these or these bad boys…

Well needless to say I still have pumpkin left. Thus, may I introduce you to the greatest Pumpkin Spice Bread I have ever made/tasted in my short life. We met earlier this week and have become fast friends.

I started with this recipe as inspiration and then made several changes. I’ve copied the recipe below and added my changes in red.

The recipe makes two loaves…. But seeing as how I am just one person who happens to be leaving on a quick Springbreak trip today I thought I’d better just make one. I halved the very first ingredient and went so far as to mentally say, “Katie, remember to halve ALL the ingredients.” The next few ingredients were cinnamon, all spice, nutmeg and baking soda. You guessed it my friends. Of course I put the full amounts of every single one. Seeing as how baking soda is kind of a big deal I was forced to make two loaves. Ah well, that’s what freezers are for I suppose.

Le Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2  cups  all-purpose flour [I used 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour]
  • 2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 1  teaspoon  ground allspice
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cinnamon
  • 1  teaspoon  ground nutmeg [I also added a dash of pumpkin pie spice]
  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  ground cloves [I didn’t have any cloves….]
  • 1 1/3  cups  packed brown sugar
  • 3/4  cup  fat-free milk
  • 1/3  cup  vegetable oil
  • 2  teaspoons  vanilla extract
  • 2  large eggs [I didn’t have eggs either – one teaspoon of ground flax seed and 3 teaspoons of water = one egg. So double that]
  • 1  (15-ounce) can pumpkin
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/3  cup  chopped walnuts [Much to my mother’s dismay I don’t like a lot of nuts on my food. I didn’t have any regardless… But I did add small chocolate baking candies to one loaf though.]

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and the next 7 ingredients (flour through cloves) in a large bowl; make a well in center of mixture. Combine sugar and the next 5 ingredients (sugar through pumpkin) in a bowl, and stir well with a whisk until smooth. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist.

Spoon batter into 2 (8 x 4-inch) loaf pans coated with cooking spray, and sprinkle with walnuts. Bake at 350° for 1 hour  [I baked for 50 minutes] or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool loaves in pans 10 minutes on a wire rack; remove from pans. Cool loaves completely; cut each loaf into 12 slices.

Despite baking in different pans/dishes they both came out  the same, i.e. delicious — light and fluffy while still a little dense… but not so dense that it was cake-like. I’m not sure if the recipe was just that good or if a random conglomeration of fateful conditions came out in my favor. I can’t promise the same unless you live almost at sea level and cook the two loaves simultaneously in glass and metal…. I’d try it out anyway if I were you.

I couldn’t even take a picture without sampling it first!

I’m off to Seaside (home of the Truman Show) for a few days! Also, anybody else watch “The Tudors” on Showtime?! I highly recommend it.

xo kb

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

