Skip to content

Tabouleh

March 14, 2011

For the record I can never remember how to pronounce tabouleh. I always want to say “Tab-blew.” But whatever — For those of you unfamiliar with this deliciousness it’s a popular Mediterranean/Greek salad.

Every Thursday three of my friends and I make dinner and watch Grey’s Anatomy/Private Practice (yep, still watching). We rotate who’s house it’s at every week and the host provides dinner. Last Thursday we wanted something a bit healthy after indulging during our Springbreak festivities. It was my turn to host and I decided to make tabouleh and chicken salad (which did not last long enough for pictures!).

I’m new to tabouleh and bulgar wheat but I loved this recipe and it’s definitely now in the summer rotation!

  • 2 cups Bulgar Wheat
  • cucumber
  • tomatoes
  • cilantro
  • spinach
  • sunflower seeds
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper

The great thing is that this is totally customizable. Two cups of bulgar wheat made  A TON! I STILL have leftovers. I kinda thought it tasted better the day after though so I don’t mind….

Prepare bulgar wheat according to directions on box (I soaked mine for two hours). Simply chop up your veggies and herbs, mix with bulgar wheat, add the lemon juice/olive oil dressing and toss. Every recipe I saw used equal parts lemon juice and olive oil for the dressing… if you use less bulgar wheat make sure to pare down your dressing. I mixed the two liquids and added a dash of salt and a pinch of chili powder before adding it the the veggies and wheat mixture. (I added veggies until I thought there was a good bulgar wheat to veggie ration. Haha — so precise. Your amount will be different depending on how much you make…)

I think this would also be delicious if you substituted cous cous for bulgar wheat!

Bon Appetit!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

