Skip to content

No Sugar?!

April 11, 2011

Anyone who knows me also knows about my love for all things sugary. I mean I hardly bake anything without at least a handful of chocolate chips tossed into the mix! It’s also no secret that I can put away an entire basket of bread in one sitting…. It’s the ‘Brooks’ in me – we love our bread.

Well, for reasons that are still a bit unclear to me I decided to try out Paleo Plan for eating for the month of April. What is the Paleo Plan you ask? No grains, legumes or sugar…. Bread, pancakes, peanut butter, cookies, candy… you get the picture. Why would you do this Katie? A challenge? To try and cut down on my sugary diet? Eh, who knows.

Paleo in this sense is short for paleolithic, aka caveman. The inventors of this plan decided that modern grains and processed sugars are causing obesity, heart disease, diabetes and an unhealthy society so they reverted back to human’s original diet of meat, eggs, veggies, fruits and nuts. I get that. But I did a little researching — the reason that we have grain products is because at some point there was a lack of game to be caught and we needed to figure out a way to feed everyone, even those who weren’t farmers. So the farmers grew grain and corn and such and voila! We could grown tons at a time and make a variety of things and everyone was fed. This is the point when people stopped spending their entire existence trying to to feed themselves… So there are definitely good things to be said about grain and legumes!

pretty farm eggs to break up the words….

A lot of people eat like this because of dietary issues. Seeing as how I normally eat everything and anything in any quantity this is not my problem. Thus I have a couple of exceptions.

  • vodka – i know it has grain but at least it’s clear!
  • peanut butter – i have 3 open jars that I am continuing to eat despite the ‘poisonous lectins!’
  • cheese – the plan cuts out anything pasteurized. I’ve got two blocks of cheese that I can’t waste… I have discovered the the joy and deliciousness of Vanilla Almond Milk though! Go get some immediately.

Really it hasn’t been too hard to follow the plan so far. I miss cereal and toast and popsicles… but overall not bad.

And here are a few good Paleo resources if you’re interested.

Paleo Plan

Paleo Lifestyle

Paleo Nutrition

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 10:37 am

    Can you have sugar free popsicles? Cuz they’re actually pretty yummy! That’s all my dad buys… and yes, I loooove almond milk. it’s so rich and creamy I always think i’m having some kind of dessert-like treat when i drink it :) I’d be interested to try this “plan” but since I’m in missouri, it’s hard to get fresh yummy veggies, etc. :(

    • April 11, 2011 7:02 pm

      I know… I’m lucky to have access to a lot of fresh stuff that is actually grown in Florida. And technically I could eat sugar free popsicles but they still have processed ‘fake sugar…’ So it just depends how strict I’m being. Hehe

  2. paige permalink
    April 11, 2011 7:57 pm

    I tried something similar to this once. I lasted a total of 4 hours (Basically the time in between meals…). Maybe I should try it again?

Leave a Reply

