Skip to content

Florida -> Missouri -> Colorado, Or Why I’ve been Quiet for 18 Days

May 6, 2011

That’s the view on my commute to work every morning…. Not too shabby eh? The mountains are beautiful and all but they are killing me on my runs. Holy altitude! But wait, you ask — how did I get to Colorado?

Well now that’s a story.

Last Thursday I finished my very first year of graduate school. It was lovely, I heart Tallahassee and I already miss my school friends! On Thursday afternoon we celebrated with margherita’s and tacos followed by Grey’s Anatomy (per usual).

Around 9 p.m. my Mother rolled in to town after a 13 hour drive! My friends left, we loaded the car and at 6:30 a.m. Friday morning Motherbear, Nalabelle and I pushed off for Missouri. SEVENTEEN hours later we arrived in Springfield. The trip took exponentially longer due to flooding and road closings all around Arkansas…With no detour signs (typical Arkansas, typical). There was a short, short while where we thought we might be trapped there for the evening. (If my mother was a bus driver, driving regulations would have forced her to pull over and stop for the evening…. don’t even add up those hours.)

Let’s take a moment to talk about… fate? Chance? Happenstance? Had my mother drove to FL on Wednesday she would probably have been caught in a Tornado. Had she drove to FL on Friday she wouldn’t have made it due to excessive flooding…. We drove straight through the devastation in Birmingham (no traffic lights, no fast food, no houses, no trees!) on Friday and ran into flooding but managed to make it home. The timing we had was arguably PERFECT. The only combination of departures and arrival times that would have allowed Nala and I to get picked up and brought to Springfield safely on Friday night. A quick thanks to the weather Gods, Momma Regan’s Angels, FSU Finals Schedulers and the Universe.

Nala’s quite the traveler these days. She doesn’t blink an eye at 17 hours in a car.

I spent a quick Saturday in Missouri — went to a few thrift stores, had dinner with Aunt and Uncle Brooks, watched a movie with my parentals and pushed off for Colorado at 6:30 a.m. Sunday morning.

On Monday I started work.

I now work at a cute gourmet deli and catering company.

Garden of the Gods Gourmet. We have homemade fresh food to purchase, frozen food to heat up, homemade bread and cookies made daily and delicious sweet potato, flour and potato chips. Everything is healthy, organic and local as long as it’s available.

We have samples everyday… Things like Curried Chicken Salad, Lemon Curd, Tapenade, Potato Leek Soup, Meatloaf, Cranberry Cassis, Walnut Chicken Salad, Thai Chicken Soup, Curried Butternut Squash Soup, Veggie Lasagna, Lemon Blueberry Cookies, Sour Cherry Cookies, Stuffed Focaccia….. Are you getting the idea? SO delicious. SO fresh. And SO fun.

The market is busy, fast paced and often crazy. I love it and I can’t believe a week has already passed!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Starpulp permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:33 pm

    Hey!!! So glad to hear you made it safe! It looks really interesting, too! What are you doing there, social media? What are the websites, feeds, pages, you’re involved in? Really interested to hear more about what you’re learning! Wish you well!

Leave a Reply

