Skip to content

Mama Bear

May 8, 2011

During my freshman year of college I told someone that my Mother could rule the world.

It took 19 years, a separation of 3 hours (between home and school) and perhaps a beer or two for me to proclaim this…. I guess it was time.

For real though — Mama Regan could be president… she has no interest in that though. She’d rather advocate and raise money for the kids that don’t have parents who can run the world. I’m pretty grateful, although I didn’t always appreciate, realize or show it, that she was there to demand the best of me, scare (force) me into following rules and show me how to be a decent human being.

She instilled a love for reading in me by reading to Tim and I every single night when we were little.

She demanded perfect homework, error free book reports and assisted with unbelievable dioramas.

She made sure we vacationed in places where we could hike, bike, learn, taste, search for shells and explore.

She coached my soccer team (with no prior knowledge of soccer) for six years.

She was the Troop Lead of Girl Scout Troop 652 for nine years.

She drove me to and from soccer practice in Tulsa, Oklahoma… On Thursdays.

She also drove me to and from soccer practice and games in St. Louis… Twice a week.

She forced me to visit William Jewell College because “I had to keep my options open.”

She drove to Florida just to turn around and bring me home last week.

And she totally loves Nala.

She taught me that life isn’t always fair and that when you’re designing something you should always keep your fonts cohesive. She tried to show me that gardening was fun and she offered to teach me to sew…. Of course I ignored her as a headstrong adolescent and just fully came to appreciate both last year. She taught me that under no circumstances are horizontal stripes ever flattering on people like us. She taught me to bake and consistently let me loose in her kitchen despite her better judgement. She taught me to own my intelligence and to never compromise my integrity for anyone or any situation. She taught me that anything less than my best effort is unacceptable and just plain lazy.

Love you Mother Bear,

Katherine

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyndsey permalink
    May 8, 2011 10:48 pm

    Love this. Thank you mamma bear brooks for always having fun crafts when I came over to play, and awesome food to eat.

  2. paige permalink
    May 9, 2011 6:58 pm

    love love love!

    especially about the whole “scare me into following rules.”

  3. Linda (aka Mama Bear) permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:43 pm

    Thank you Daughter Bear! You were and are still worth every minute of time I invest in you! Now can we just get your friends to ease up a little on the part about being scared of my rules?!?! I never threatened to lock you or THEM in a dark, dank cellar or anything scary! Paige! Ashley! What did I ever do or threaten to do to you girls?!?! :-D

    • Ashley permalink
      May 15, 2011 4:32 pm

      I love this post!

      And no, I don’t recall ever finding myself locked in any dungeons… but I’ll admit that SOMETIMES I can be a LITTLE too loud, and I’m sure there’s been a time when you have wished for a convenient cellar to put me in :)

      I must agree with Katie, we do have wonderful mothers.

  4. May 10, 2011 11:52 am

    This is lovely. I’m sure you made your mom very happy!

Leave a Reply

