Skip to content

Funtiqu-ing

May 30, 2011

On my way from Florida to Colorado I spent a solid 24 hours at home in Springfield. My Mom and I took this opportunity to run to a few thrift stores (a favorite hobby of ours).

We visited a “new to us” store called Funtiques that we’ve somehow been overlooking for all these years. We also stopped in to a few on Commercial Street although I can’t recall the names…..

I can walk up to a both, look it over and tell whether I’m going to be interested in anything. Perhaps it’s my need for instant gratification. Perhaps my eyes are freakishly speedy. Or maybe I just really know what I like…. Whatever the case may be my mom is a little more thorough and methodical with her thrifting. Since her way obviously takes a bit longer I snapped a few pictures of some of my favorite things while waiting.

I would spray that lamp a fun color and hang it in my kitchen (if I had a kitchen big enough for a lamp).

You may remember my love for striped glasses…

My mom hates owls and the whole “owl fad” that hit a few years ago. I think this little guy is kinda cute.

There is a fabulous multi-colored, striped pitcher and glass set at a little shop around the corner from the market right now…. And it’s on sale. I’m trying to remind myself how much my rent is about to be in D.C. so that I don’t purchase it… Eeeek.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie's Mom permalink
    May 31, 2011 9:51 am

    Just for the record, owls were really, really big in the 1960s and I did not like them then either! The owls that are showing up today are either leftover owls from then or ugly copies of the 1960s owls.

  2. May 31, 2011 10:45 pm

    Why are we the same person? My mom and I have had a standing Weston antiquing date planned for my June visit since at least February! Also, loving the new layout – looks great! :)

Leave a Reply

