Skip to content

20 Day Hiatus

June 27, 2011

Holy smokes! I blinked and and 20 days went by.

Part of the reason I keep a blog is because it’s a convenient way to keep track of all the interesting things I’m doing that I’d like to remember some day (will this blog last forever?!) The past few weeks have been jam packed so I thought I’d better get to it before I forget everything that’s happened (also people keep wanting to see pictures of my house…

Two weeks ago I packed up my bags in Colorado and took off on my next adventure. Pay close attention, it’s about to get complicated.

On Saturday the 11th I got up early and drove my rental car from Colorado to Kansas City. It’s super expensive to fly out of Springfield so I booked my flight out of KC…. Unfortunately my rental car and Nala had to somehow make it to Springfield. I rendezvoused with my brother (who lives in KC) at a Cracker Barrel near the KC airport. He drove me to the airport and then went back to Cracker Barrel to wait with Nala until my Dad and Uncle arrived about 15 minutes later. Uncle Mike and my Dad carpooled from Springfield to KC so that my Dad could chauffeur Nala (and take the car) back to Springtown.

Phew! Big thanks to Tim, Uncle Mike and my Dad for kindly driving all over the state to help me get to D.C.

I now live here! Cute, right?! It’s in a perfect location and I can actually walk to work…. which is the greatest thing ever.

When I first arrived in DC I lived with a friend of a friend of a friend in Arlington. Arlington is perfectly lovely but I was far away and had to take a bus to the metro for my morning commute. This is so much better.


I’ve been to DC a handful of times before this trip and so I knew that I loved it…. I am totally thrilled to now be “living” here for an extended period of time. The city is very young and there is so much culture and energy and politics everywhere you go… In other words, I’m in heaven (almost…. I am missing boyfriend and a cat and few dozen other people who I’d like to bring along).

I love, love my internship so far and can not believe I’ve already been here for two weeks (I see a trend here…. Can we put summer in slow motion please?)

Lots to share!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 11:12 am

    how long are you there for?

  2. paige permalink
    June 27, 2011 8:00 pm

    Your life is so much more glamorous than mine… Can we take a minute and discuss how adorable your new house is! LOVE!

  3. June 28, 2011 8:01 am

    Lyndsey — I’m here until sometime in early August…. I haven’t pinned down any travel plans yet so we’ll see. :)

    Paige — you live in Port Angeles and get to go hiking all the time; that’s glamorous! :) But yes, the house is cute – I agree. :)

  4. June 28, 2011 9:11 am

    p.s. both of your lives are more glamorous than mine

Leave a Reply

