Skip to content

4 Months / 20 Loaves

August 31, 2011

It’s noooo secret that I really like bread. Lately I’ve been reading (and loving!) Elise Blaha’s blog and earlier this year she challenged herself to bake 40 Loaves in 2011. Because bread can be really nutritionally healthy without a lot of preservatives (etc) and because I love eating it, I’ve decided to make 20 loaves in 2011 starting now.

It might come as no surprise that the first loaf I made was banana bread. Wah wah wah.

Recipe: Tessy’s Banana Bread via Shutterbean

Changes: I didn’t have any brown sugar so my crusty topping was a bit lackluster and not so crusty. Other than that I kept everything the same.

Verdict: It was good but the consistency was more of a cake and less of a bread (maybe something to do with the insane humidity happening around here?). With the topping done correctly I feel like it might have had sort of a coffee cake effect. I’ll probably give it another chance with brown sugar at some point.

1/20 done!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie's Mom permalink
    August 31, 2011 9:41 am

    Question – are you going to tackle yeast breads, too or just quick breads?
    Comment – I am going to send you 2 to 3 to 4 of my favorite bread recipes that you will need to incorporate into the 20 loaves…I have many delicious recipes that you probably don’t remember because I wasn’t baking as much during high school and soccer madness!

Trackbacks

  1. Loaves: 2/20 «

Leave a Reply

