Skip to content

salad cancels out calories, no?

September 14, 2011

Every week my friends and I have a little dinner party that usually coincides with a show that we watch {cough* Grey’s Anatomy*cough). Last week was my turn and I decided to mix comfort foods with a salad bar.

While waiting in line at the grocery store I saw a Mac & Cheese recipe on the cover of cooking light. A quick search of google turned up the recipe which formed the beginning of my plans.

Next I saw a creamy, baked corn recipe on a blog that I follow and I decided that I needed to try that as well. If you look closely these recipes are sort of similar in that they are both baked creaminess….topped with bread crumbs. Ah well, I went with it, life is short.

To even out the goodness I put out a salad bar. Which actually was quite delicious as well.

The basis of the mac & cheese was actually butternut squash. Cheese is added to a puree of squash and onions and then mixed with noodles, topped with bread crumbs and baked. It was definitely a good “healthy” mac and cheese substitute.

This corn was so good! The consistency (thanks half and half) was delicious and the top was perfectly crispy. I also love baking in cast iron skillets.

And then the salad bar. Have you ever had rice vinegar? I think I converted a few people to using it as salad dressing. It’s delicious.

I’ve already started planning my next menu….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 6:37 pm

    Well that is excellent because I’ve already started planning my flight… ;) The macaroni looks incredible!

  2. September 20, 2011 12:30 pm

    Haha! Yay! The macaroni was seriously quite delicious…. Perhaps you need to throw an impromptu dinner party this week? :)

Leave a Reply

