Skip to content

Loaves 3/20

October 18, 2011

Recipe: A couple of weeks ago I made loaf 3 of 20 — Irish Beer and Cheese Bread. I stumbled upon this recipe a month or two ago and the cheesy pictures drew me in immediately.

Changes: I kept two of the three cheese the same as in the recipe but instead of the Dubliner (it was molded when I opened the package!) I used a different kind of cheddar. Instead of using Killian’s Irish beer I used an IPA called Red Mountain (maybe?? Something that Barber had….)

Verdict: It was good… but not great. I didn’t think that the beer would effect how the bread tasted too much and it really did. I’m not a huge fan of IPA’s so I wasn’t thrilled that the bread had a super IPA-y after taste. The consistency was nice and dense and I felt like it actually tasted better on the second day…. Maybe eating the bread at room temperature made the beer flavor a little more subtle? Overall it was good but I’ll probably look for a different cheesy bread in the future if that’s what I’m going for….

The pictures do make it look delicious though.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Starpulp permalink
    October 18, 2011 10:48 pm

    Ohh man…can I lick the screen? Is that ok?

    I am loving this project.. It’s inspired me to try something similar!!!

    I just KNOW I’m going to make a loaf or two of one of your recipes throughout this project!! Yum!!

  2. October 19, 2011 12:38 am

    Yay! You should definitely try some of them. I have a super delicious pumpkin sugar loaf coming up next…. :)

Leave a Reply

