Skip to content

On being unemployed

October 2, 2012

Unemployment is a strange thing.

When Barberino picked me up on August 9th in Jackson, WY we had nowhere in the world to be. Nobody was expecting us. We didn’t have any responsibilities other than our normal day to day life tasks. And we didn’t have a plan. Not having a plan… this is a liberating thing folks.

You know what else unemployment gives you (or rather doesn’t give you I suppose)? Money. Which is sort of a necessity in this day and age. (Although we had a fleeting thought of joining a commune in rural Montana ala Jennifer Aniston in Wanderlust [anyone?].)

I’m lucky enough to be free from any payments right now, I have no one to support and my parents are kind enough to put me up and deal with all my stuff for a little bit. So unemployment, it sort of rocks.

But then, you know, there’s always that nagging feeling that while this is fun it’s not really what you’re supposed to do. You’re supposed to have a job so you can live somewhere and feed yourself and store your things and go on vacations and change the world and all that…. a productive citizen of the world or something.

And it’s time. It’s been nice and I have done a lot of productive things that I’ve been meaning to do (like take a month long roadtrip, make some crafty messes, visit lots of people and read a lot of books/blogs), but it’s time to put on my boots (if I could find them in all the boxes of my belongings) and join the world of working people (or at least a little piece of the world).

All of this to really say…. that I started an unemployment afghan somewhere during the past two months.

So that’s productive. And I also I got to see all of these fun people and eat a lot of good food and hang out with Mama Regan and Papa Brooks and the kittens.

Barberlawyer and I also got to attend our first post grad homecoming celebration at the alma mater. I wore circus shorts in celebration.

I think what I’m really trying to say is unemployment, you’ve been awesome. Hopefully we’ll be parting ways soon… and here’s to next time!

[Disclaimer: A) I don’t mean to make light of the fact that many people are unemployed and it’s a very difficult thing! I’m lucky enough to be in a situation where I have a place to live and people to feed me and for that I’m grateful. And B) I’ve been actively searching for jobs during most of this period —  not just eating macaroons in bed all day.}

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Twenty Twelve «

Leave a Reply

