Skip to content

I’m proud.

April 8, 2013

I have wildly talented friends.

IMG_2794

I promise we don’t always have scary eyes.

Rhett and Brendan, my wildly talented friends that make up The Brothers Roberson, just released their first self titled album (which you can find for just $9 on itunes). And guess what? They sold out of all their copies in just 3 weeks (I don’t even have one yet!).

I’ve been friends with Rhett since high school (there was actually a pretty precise moment where I’d say we became friends) and the summer after that I met Brendan… and they’re sort of magical. Like, they can be ridiculously hilarious (sometimes, just ridiculous) and quoting Boondock Saints one moment. Then the next they’re playing a song that they’ve literally just made up — Rhett might be playing a guitar and Brendan’s on some makeshift drum thing and it’s amazing. Next thing I know we’re at a karaoke bar and the entire bar is singing along to their rendition of Wagon Wheel. Add to those shenanigans a few jokes, perhaps a tattoo or two, several shots of whiskey and then repeat. And that my friends, is the Brothers Roberson.

Pretty much I’ve always thought they were a big deal (which is why I consistently ask to be in a music video and always proclaim to be a groupy)… But then late last year they won the Midwest Regional Texaco Country Showdown. Turns out I’m not the only one who thinks they are a big deal.

So then they got to go to Nashville and compete for the championship… they played at Ryman and it was hosted by Jewel… And it was a super big deal.

Their interview makes me giggle.

The whole show will be airing sometime right(?!?! <– I’ll get back to you on this).

I’m just so proud that Rhett and Brendan are doing something they love and are doing it so well. They’ve recently overcome some emotional things in their personal lives and yet they use their music as a way to keep going. This is so cool. I’m way excited to be along for the ride and I can’t wait to see where this adventure leads. Fingers crossed that you hit it big and can quite your day jobs soon!!!

Now for some link love! Like their facebook page! Check out their new website! Youtube videos! And a bonus clip of Rhett covering the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band (I don’t think Rhett’s even seen this.) Also – this is like, my favorite (I don’t know why you thought shooting this with Chase was a good idea… Haha!)

My heart is proud (also your songs make me miss Missouri).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 11:23 am

    that’s actually Nitty Gritty Dirt Band not Chesney ;)

  2. April 8, 2013 11:30 am

    Ohhhhh good catch! Thanks! I updated that. :)

Leave a Reply

