Skip to content

a watercolor house

May 29, 2013

In my constant campaign for favorite child status (kidding! just kidding) I came up with my favorite joint Mother’s Day//Dad’s Birthday present thus far.

Although I moved out of my parents house almost 8 years ago (geeeeez) I spent a combined several months sleeping in my old bedroom last year. My parents pretty graciously let me move most of my earthly belongings back into their house. They adopted my cat (although I’m pretty certain they’re not upset about that). And they let me whirl wind myself in and out every few months… Now that I moved to DC it’s sort of like I moved out again(?) or maybe, for real this time. Either way, the only house I ever lived in growing up will always represent home.

After seeing a few water color houses on Instagram, I realized that an illustration of my parents house would be the perfect gift.

The fabulously talented Audrey Deford (who I contacted out of the blue after seeing her work) used this photo (thanks Evan!)…

house2

…and turned it into this!

house(I blurred out the little address below the house).

I love it! And my parents were quite happy as well. Audrey is the wife of my high school friend, Sam — which is how I discovered her originally. She is super talented and a dream to work with. You can see here work here and here!

I’ve had my eye on one of these maps for a while!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie's Mom ;o) permalink
    May 29, 2013 11:11 am

    Yes, we LOVE it! Our daughter is very clever and very talented herself, and knows a good “fit” for a gift when she sees one!!

  2. Dad permalink
    May 29, 2013 8:54 pm

    Katie is right about the cat. We had a new kitten that we discovered needed a ‘pal.’

  3. May 30, 2013 11:34 am

    OMG. My parents are getting this for Christmas.

    • May 30, 2013 12:49 pm

      Yay! And you’ll be supporting a fellow Springfieldian and family. :)

Leave a Reply

